Walking the Dog

On the Mic: Kimberly

One of my early morning mental prods is: Walk the Dog. I don’t own a dog – long workday and allergies. However, the principal is critical for us all — if you don’t have one, walk yourself: Woof!

On a morning when I shirked away from my own morning workout, I was moved by a New York Times article entitled “Young, Obese and in Surgery.” I applaud the reporting of Anemona Hartocollis as well as the all-access slideshow of Shani Gofman, the sympathetic subject. Pains and truths in conflict with the individual, system and culture are brilliantly addressed. Without question, I wish Ms. Gofman the best in her quest to manage her weight and her life.

America’s obesity problem is one that is often acknowledged as an issue of overindulgence by a growing population (no pun inten…well, okay, maybe it was intentional). Looking at figures from the World Health Organization (WHO), our sedentary culture and hedonistic diets of appear to be the biggest cultural export of the 21st Century.

My connection with the struggle of weight lies just beneath the surface. Perhaps it was fostered by the dieting and weight-related challenges in my own family. Thanks genetics. Perhaps it had something to do with ALL of the medications I took growing up, particularly steroids. They often stripped me of every bit of energy and left me bloated and swollen. I’ll never forget the results of a prescribed steroid that I started hiding in my Mom’s plants when I was ten. The plants died.  She then discovered that’s how they made me feel. Thirty years later, medical research caught up to detect my food allergies. Disdain and contempt abound!

Based upon the 2010 WHO data, more than 100 countries have a female population (women and girls) classified as overweight and obese (BMI of 25 or greater). It’s worth noting, these are only the countries where the data was available. Obesity exposes individuals to increased risk of diseases such as cardiovascular disease, stroke, diabetes and some forms of cancer. With these rates now increasing in children and teens, ring the alarm!

Rates of Overweight and Obese Female Populations - WHO 2010

Hartocollis is genius in how she balances the responsibility owned by her subject, while demonstrating how the greater system is finding/exploiting opportunities. I was astounded to read of a state insurance program paying more than $20,000 to fund a laparoscopic surgery in teens, yet has difficulty finding the dollars to support diet and exercise programs! There’s nothing like reading of pervasive opportunism that funds treating the chronic condition as opposed to preventive measures. Election year…hello!

Just for the record, I’m not even going to speak about all the economic and institutional challenges that yield greater proportions of obesity within communities of color in the US. Let’s just say that it’s more complex than choice and preference.

Enough with my self-reflection! What about the little ones? Wellness requires attention and balance. It’s a shame that the dynamics of wellness and nutrition aren’t key areas in early education like math and reading. Certainly, they are as important and it can be argued that they are even more essential. When calories consumed increase and those expended decline or stagnate, the results are weight increase.

People fighting the battle of the bulge often ask for the secret. That magical formula for success. After years of searching here is what I have discovered: Eat Less and Exercise More.

BTW – The WHO’s data placed the United State’s 19th in its 2010 data, far below Mexico, Saudi Arabia, Ireland and Iraq.
Wave a flag – We’re not #1!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment